English Overview › About the Department
21. 9. 2021.

International collaboration


Erasmus is an academic mobility program within the European Union's Lifelong Learning Platform (LLP). It was launched in 1987 in order to increase the mobility of students, teaching and non-teaching staff at Europe's institutions of higher education, as well as to encourage inter-university cooperation. The Erasmus programme allows teachers to undertake teaching and research work, while students can attend exchanges or professional internships at foreign universities and colleges.

To participate in the Erasmus programme, candidates must apply to calls published by the University of Zagreb; a faculty committee decides on applications and the distribution of scholarships.

Students who win a scholarship to participate in the Erasmus exchange programme apply to their chosen foreign university. They must:

  • have official student status and be enrolled in the current academic year
  • fill out an exchange agreement  (Training agreement and quality commitment)
  • choose courses at the foreign university and ensure they correspond with courses at their home university (the degree to which courses correspond affects the acceptance of grades and ECTS points); in accordance with this, they must compose a list of courses for their Learning agreement (single major or double major) in agreement with the ECTS coordinator.
  • provide a Transcript of Records (single major or double major) verified by the ECTS coordinator

In order to speed up the process of issuing grade transcripts in English, students must submit a Transcript of Records form in English, in addition to the verified form in Croatian. The Department of Croatian Language and Literature Course List in English can be used for the English translation.

If courses change later (cancellation, changes for justified reasons), students are required to inform their ECTS coordinator. In addition to this, they must also fill out a Changes to original proposed study programme/Learning Agreement form certified by both the ECTS coordinator of their host university and the ECTS coordinators of their home department and faculty.

The documents listed here are available on the FFZG Students website (Student mobility section).

Contact: Erasmus coordinator:


CEEPUS, the Central European Exchange Program for University Studies, is the most important academic student and professor exchange programme in Central and Southeastern Europe. Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Kosovo, Hungary, Moldavia, Poland, Romania, North Macedonia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Serbia all participate in the programme.

The programme is coordinated by the Central CEEPUS Office in Vienna. Science ministers of member states and the rectors and deans of partner universities and faculties all sign and vouch for the implementation of the programme.

The Department of Croatian Language and Literature and Slavic studies departments participate in two CEEPUS networks:

  • A-12 Language and Literature in a Central European Context
  • A-37 Slavic Philology and its Cultural Contexts

A-12 network scholarships are intended for graduate students, final year students, doctoral students, and professors of Croatian, German, Slavic languages, Hungarian, Romanian, and Dutch. A-37 network scholarships are intended exclusively for graduate students, final year students, doctoral students, and professors of Croatian, Slavic languages, and Romanian.

The CEEPUS programme allows students to attend an exchange of up to one semester (four months) at a CEEPUS programme partner university, as well as final year students and doctoral students to attend a one-month and two-month exchange, respectively. After the exchange, the Ministry of Science and Education settles rail travel costs, while the host country settles stay and study expenses.

During sabbatical (up to one month) at their selected university, professors are required to hold at least six hours of teaching per week.

Further information about the CEEPUS programme

Calls for participation in the CEEPUS student and professor academic exchange programme are published on the website of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Students must provide the following documentation:

  1. A curriculum vitae in English (which must indicate foreign language knowledge)
  2. A verified grade transcript (including calculated average)
  3. Certificate of enrolment
  4. Motivational letter in English
  5. Suggested courses the student wishes to attend at the selected faculty (chosen from the course description; check with ECTS coordinators if these courses will be accepted upon return)

Final year students and doctoral students must provide the following documentation:

  1. A curriculum vitae in English (which must indicate foreign language knowledge)
  2. A verified grade transcript (including calculated average)
  3. Certificate of student status
  4. Motivational letter in English (working plan for research stay)
  5. Two recommendations from professors

Professors must provide only a motivational letter and lecture plan, and must later agree upon lectures (contact person, lecture times, ECTS points) at the selected university.

Candidates must indicate at which university and during which semester (winter or summer) they intend to use the scholarship. All candidates will be informed of the exact date of interviews and application results by e-mail; applications must thus also include applicants' e-mail addresses.

Scholarship amounts for individual countries and other general information is listed on the CEEPUS website.

Applicants may also attend selected universities as CEEPUS freemovers, but only during the summer semester. This type of scholarship also requires the submission of all the aforementioned documentation, as well as an acceptance letter from the CEEPUS coordinator of the faculty being attended.

For further information, please contact the CEEPUS coordinator.

Contact: CEEPUS coordinator: